Active x Combo box properties not all showing up

Fcolombo

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
5
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
When I add an active x combo box to my spreadsheet using the developer tab, everything seems to work properly. However when I click properties, i only get an abbreviated list that only includes misc. options not the full range of options i need to specify the list and the target cell etc. What am I doing wrong? I thought it might have to do with active x controls not being enabled but i switched this to all active x allowed and still it did nothing. Please advise
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,319
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Do you mean you see something like
1601049787634.png
 

Fcolombo

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
5
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
yes but only the misc category is showing up
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,319
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
So you don't even see the words, Data, Font etc?
 

Fcolombo

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
5
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

That is correct only the MISC tab shows up
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,319
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I've never seen anything like that so not sure what to advise I'm afraid.
 

Fcolombo

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
5
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I've never seen anything like that so not sure what to advise I'm afraid.
if it helps any. When I open up a new blank new spreadsheet and try the same thing, I DO get all of the properties. It is only on this particular spreadsheet that I don't. The spreadsheet contains multiple tabs, macros and advanced filters. so it is saved in .xlsm format. I thought that it might have something to do with it either being or not being a trusted document??
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,319
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
It maybe that the workbook has been corrupted in some way, but can't say for certain.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,127,136
Messages
5,622,936
Members
415,941
Latest member
georgiana686

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top