Adding asterisk to a value in column under certain criteria

iotapsi321

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
17
Hello. I am wondering how I would add an asterisk to numbers in column A only if the numbers in column B is in between two values? Thanks in advance for your time!

That’s the basic question. I’m creating a stats table and need to add one asterisk if a value is in between .05 and .011; I would add two asterisks if the value is in between .01 and .0011; and a third asterisk if the values are equal to or less than .001.
Here is what I am hoping to accomplish.
Column A Column B Column C
.56. .05 .56*
.73. .001. .73***
.02. .86. .02
.46. .06. .46
.68. .01. .68**
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.

Logit

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
3,856
.
Assuming your numbers are in Cols A & B ...

Paste this formula in C1 and drage down :

Code:
=IF(B1<=0.001,CONCATENATE(B1,"***"),IF(B1<=0.01,CONCATENATE(B1,"**"),IF(B1<=0.05,CONCATENATE(B1,"*"),"")))



A
B
C
D
1
.56.​
0.05​
0.05*​
2
.73.​
0.001​
0.001***​
3
.02.​
0.86​
4
.46.​
0.06​
5
.68.​
0.01​
0.01**​
 
Last edited:

iotapsi321

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
17
Thanks! By chance is there a way to make the cells that produce a false statement retain their values?
 

Rick Rothstein

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
36,691
Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Thanks! By chance is there a way to make the cells that produce a false statement retain their values?

Try replacing the "" at the end of Logit's formula with A1
 
Last edited:

Logit

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
3,856

ADVERTISEMENT

Thanks! By chance is there a way to make the cells that produce a false statement retain their values?

Not certain I understand your question.

Do you mean not have a blank cell in Column C ? Rick's suggestion will fix that.

Or are you actually seeing the word FALSE in Column C ? The formula is written to avoid that.
 
Last edited:

iotapsi321

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
17
A few problems occurred. I got an error message saying the formula was too long. I also tried typing in A1 and no luck. I greatly appreciate your time.
 

iotapsi321

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
17

ADVERTISEMENT

Oh and yes, I am actually seeing the word FALSE
 

Logit

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
3,856
.
One thing I see (which I corrected here but did not advise you - sorry) is your original numbers :

Excel 2007 32 bit
A
B
C
1
0.56​
0.05​
0.05*
2
0.73​
0.001​
0.001***
3
0.02​
0.86​
4
0.46​
0.06​
5
0.68​
0.01​
0.01**
Sheet: Sheet1

Note, the numbers should NOT have a decimal at the end. I mistakenly left the decimal at the end in my original post. Not certain if that is
causing the error you see but it is a step in the right direction.

And, if you want to fill in the empty cells in Col C, follow previous advice of changing the very end of the formula from two quotes to A1.
 
Last edited:

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,820
Messages
5,598,301
Members
414,224
Latest member
Crazy_FC

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top