Advanced VBA macro tools

Marrone

Hi everyone,

I am a translator dealing on daily basis with several excel files which share almost the same structure and I am trying to come up with a series of advanced macros that can automatize multiple and redundant tasks I have to perform in each of them.

Unfortunately, my knowledge of VBA coding is very limited, so I apologize in advance for any misunderstanding. The idea is to come up with a Userform including multiple tabs, each with its own macro. Here's the list of the tasks I would like to include:

• Advanced Search

Method #1: Search a specific term

Enter a term to search either in column "ENGLISH" or "TRANSLATION" (give the option to select which one), Ideally, include check-box options to match the case or the entire cell content and specify if the search is required for only the selected sheet or all of them. Then generate a report sheet with the following structure:​

1. [*=1]Column A: List the hyperlinks of each cell found in the selected column.
    [*=1]Column B: List all cells found in the selected column (ideally with the searched word highlighted in red).
    [*=1]Column C: List all the respective cells in the other column.
    [*=1]Include a button to paste any changes applied to the column "TRANSLATION" back to the respective cell.

Method #2: Search specific colors

It's similar to Option 1, but it searches for only cells highlighted with specific colors (ideally using check-box options to pick which colors to search) in either column "ENGLISH" or "TRANSLATION", no matter their content. The report sheet should be exactly the same as Option 1.​

• Issue lookup

Check all tabs and look for any of the following issues:

1. Inconsistent numbers, line-breaks, punctuation or capitalization between the cells in column "ENGLISH" and "TRANSLATION".
  2. Double spaces, unsupported characters, repeated words, cells with 255 characters or trailing spaces in "TRANSLATION".