Advise on Employment Excel VBA

fredlo2008

Hello everyone,

I have been reading several VBA books in the past years and I have learned quite a few things. I am also going to school seeking my major in Computer Science application development. A few days ago out of nowhere was reading a job alert from my email and next thing I know I am looking at: "Excel VBA Programmer", so I applied. I have been looking for a better job for a while and this is something that would obviously put me on the right tracks (I am an admin now and its super boring, its fair to mention that its boring because 90% of my job is VBA automated now, seriously lol lots of time to kill)

I have been talking to the recruiter and reading the job description and it seems to me that I am capable of doing it. But at the same time I am terrified; its my first programming job; what if I cannot do it? Here is a lists of my fears:
  1. What if I cannot do an assignment? Sometimes solutions are easier than others.
  2. What if I am taking to long?
  3. Is it ok not to know all the constants in VBA? Sometimes its hard too know all that stuff, sometimes I have to use Google or go back to books to find them.
  4. Is recording a macro to perform complicated tasks like pivot tables, setting print layouts, or to know a specific method considered cheating?

Thanks a lot for the help :)

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
The comments below relate to not just VBA, but to life in general...

1. What if you CAN do an assignment? Some solutions are more challenging than others!
2. Who defines "too long"? Speed comes with practice, but speed also brings with it, greater risk of errors or overlooking something