All macros gone and excel wont save file because of errors

ste33uka

Active Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
358
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi my workbook macros have all gone and file wont save as it says it has errors.
I do have a backup, but this is happening every day now
backup works fine,until it is updated with a few rows of data, i dont believe the workbook has any errors
This is a snap shot of modules, where i cant click anything
anyone any ideas?
problem allways happens when i move workbook to a different pc, then the problem is on both pcs
1.png
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
13,956
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
What error messages is it giving? if all the macro's are gone have you tried saving it as an xlsx file rather than a xlsm or xlsb file (keep a copy of the original)?
 

ste33uka

Active Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
358
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
What error messages is it giving? if all the macro's are gone have you tried saving it as an xlsx file rather than a xlsm or xlsb file (keep a copy of the original)?
error says, Errors were detected while saving file name. Microsoft Excel may be able to save the file by removing or repairing some features.
Tried saving it as xlsm and xlsb, but wont work and it wont repair.
 

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
13,956
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
Did you try saving as xlsx if you have no macros in the workbook?
I don't think it is anything to do with the macros, I just want to eliminate it as a cause.
 

ste33uka

Active Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
358
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

yes ,but still get same error, the modules of macros are there , but unclickable, and in view macros they have gone,
i believe it is something to do with sharing the file on 2 pcs
I copy them to a usb drive and then copy to desktop
 

ste33uka

Active Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
358
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Well i have read 100s of posts about this problem but cant find a solution
When i had this problem in the past, i would just copy the file to other pc press save, then the file would work on both pcs,
but now it wont work on 2 desktop pcs and 1 laptop.
 

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
13,956
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile

ADVERTISEMENT

Is it saving in safe mode if you rename the file via SaveAs?
 

ste33uka

Active Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
358
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
should the folder C:\Users\home\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Excel\xlstart be empty ?
Where is the folder for macros ?
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,126,957
Messages
5,621,827
Members
415,859
Latest member
Vain

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top