Auto combination/update of data from multiple closed workbooks into a single summary workbook

Cappy123

Hi there,

This is my first post here, although I have utilised this forum many times by reading other threads to help me solve my excel problems. Unfortunately this time I have been unable to reach a solution myself, so I'm hopeful that someone may help educate me. I am relatively novice at VBA coding, I can somewhat understand what is happening in other peoples codes, but writing myself is certainly a work in progress. But it is a work in progress!

My Task:

I am a civil engineer who manages a large portfolio of small construction jobs. Each of these jobs has its own excel workbook that keeps track of all sorts of data (completion dates, budgets, defects etc.). I am aiming to create a summary tracking workbook in Excel 2013 that summaries the data of all these jobs. Ideally this summary workbook will:

1.) Automatically update on opening. So when data within any of the specific job workbooks is updated, the summary workbook reflects these changes.
2.) Pull in data from every workbook within a specified folder, so that new jobs can be added to the summary workbook by putting them in the specified folder without modifying the code.
3.) Extract all data from the source job workbooks within specified columns all the way to the last row containing data, rather than having to specify an exact range within the code. This is because the jobs do not necessarily have the same amount of data (e.g. one job may have 5 defects, whilst the next may have 50 defects).

My Attempt To-Date:

I have attempted to achieve the above tasks by merging together two pieces of other peoples written code, however unfortunately I haven't been able to get a code that achieves all my tasks yet.

Source 1: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/gg549168(v=office.14).aspx