Auto Filter help

kenjohnson_342

Board Regular
What I got: worksheet with a bunch of part numbers, descriptions and prices etc that less Excel-Saavy coworkers use all day long.
With 10 columns wide by 10,000 rows deep we use it to quote customers over the phone. I've tried over and over to explain how the "FIND" function works but no go.
I then created a VLOOKUP scenario where they could input the part number to get the info they need, however it has to be an exact match. Sometimes there are suffexes to part numbers that make that difficult.

Wet dream...
I would love to create an input box or a cell, where it could trigger the auto-filter function.
So user enters "CBQ" into the box or cell and it would auto-filter the part column for instances where it contains "CBQ". That would capture all part numbers with or without suffexes.

I have very little experience with programming and writing macros and control boxes. So a complicated vba option won't work well for me. Anybody have any good suggestions for me?

Thanks, Ken.

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Have you tried recording a macro while AutoFiltering for contains "CBQ"? That will give you some starter code. You could use the Worksheet_Change event procedure to trigger the AutoFilter.

Upvote 0
Also, if it makes a difference I password protect the worksheet so the rest of the staff can't screw up my pricing and formulas.

Upvote 0
ok so I recorded a macro and have the code below so far. Again with very limited experience with macros, how do I take the next step to have it reference the text in cell B1? Thanks for your help so far.

Sub TestLookup()
'
' TestLookup Macro
'

'
ActiveSheet.Range("$A$8:$L$8948").AutoFilter Field:=1, Criteria1:="=*cbq*" _
, Operator:=xlAnd
End Sub

Upvote 0
Try this in the module for the worksheet:

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)