Auto Filter Table Range

julhs

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Naively thought; .Range("D8:D16"). AutoFilter would limit the filter to JUST that range.

However it is filtering the whole of Col D (D:D).
What do I need to change so it ONLY filters "D8:D16"
VBA Code:
Sub AutoFilterTable1Column1CellValue()
        With ThisWorkbook.ActiveSheet
             .Range("D8:D16").AutoFilter Field:=1, Criteria1:="" & .Range("B8").value
     End With
End Sub

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Hi Julhs, first up, I am a RANK beginner, so anything I say is to be treated with the greatest suspicion. I tried your code and it worked for me exactly as you have written it, provided I understand exactly what it is you are trying to accomplish. The only thing I will say is that the next cell in the table, beneath D16 (D17) must be empty for it to work. Here is my first image:

1672671146042.png

Then I run your macro and get the second image:

1672671184996.png

The reason D17 must be empty is that if you put any content in there, it extends the table from D8:D17, not counting the header. Now, as I look at this, I doubt that it is anything like what you are after, but my corny attempt might inspire others to actually come up with the real solution. (y)

Upvote 0
Solution
I also mucked around trying to understand the code a bit more and managed to write it slightly differently and come up with the same result.

VBA Code:
Sub CreateFilter()

Range("D8:D16").AutoFilter
        ActiveSheet.ListObjects("Table2").Range.AutoFilter Field:=1, Criteria1:="" & .Range("B8").Value
    End With

End Sub

Of course, I still have no idea what I'm doing, so please forget the above. I hope someone else who knows what he's doing comes to your rescue soon (y)

Upvote 0
Hi julhs,

I doubt AutoFilter will not support this directly