AutoExec Macro in Access 2010

AlexCS

Board Regular
Hi everyone,

Do you know if it is possible to run an AutoExec macro to open a database in read only mode if the username is different than the Admin's username? Please let me know your ideas, I am really new to Access and I wanted to avoid creating a form if possible.

Many thanks!

Alex

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
Can you clarify what you mean by "read only". What do you want to restrict?

Upvote 0
Can you clarify what you mean by "read only". What do you want to restrict?

Hi Xenou and thanks for your time! I would like to only allow the users to see and filter the data, but not to delete or change it.

Cheers, Alex

Upvote 0
Hi, I think then that you want to use forms in datasheet view as your tables and/or queries. Forms can be set so that you disallow edits and deletes. A savvy and motivated user could get around that pretty easily, if they were so inclined, so it really just stops people from making changes inadvertently or without thinking about it. If you need higher security you can work with database privileges on a user level (this is a bit of work and I personally have very little experience with it, so I can't help with that).

I guess in principle you could play around with ACL to make the file read-only to most users, and give write access to yourself but I don't know if that would actually work or not (would be interesting to find out). I've never done anything like that either so no personal experience on this front either.

ξ

Upvote 0