Automated recurring calculation. No-one at my job can help me with this.

Mr Sandman

Hello everyone,

I would first like to thank you all for the help that I found on this forum, reading various threads as I was discovering Excel, working (and being stuck) on my project.

Before we get to the good stuff, let me introduce myself and tell you why I am writing this post.

My name is Antoine, I work as a receptionist in a hotel in Belgium, and I am currently enrolled in a yearly program (along with 9 other people nationally) from my company, aimed at making us progress in the corporate ladder quicker than usual.

The program lasts 1 year and is comprised of several challenges, meet-ups etc.

For the first challenge, we had to find a "BHAG" (Big Hairy Audacious Goal.. I didn't choose the name but you can see how fond of acronyms we also are in Belgium) which would benefit us, the employee, but also the company. It had to be challenging etc, getting out of our "comfort zone".

So I choose to work on a problem that I thought needed fixing, I knew it would be technically challenging (knowing nothing about Excel before starting it) but that was the point.

Here it is:

Each day, the morning shift receptionist has to assign rooms to clean to specific workers, typically 28rooms for an 8hours shift, 20rooms for a 6 hours shift.

The Rooms are either:

"DA" = departure = the sheets have to be changed, new towels etc. the room thoroughly cleaned for the next guest = more work generally than staying.

or

"OS" = Staying = only the floor and the bathroom must be cleaned, as well as giving new towels = less work generally than departure.

In the old way, we simply had to assign for instance "Room N°1 to Room N°20 = Worker N°1" - "Room N°20 to Room N°40 = Worker N°2" etc.

Which meant that if there was a group of guests staying for several nights, the worker n°1 could have 18 OS and 2 DA to clean, whereas her coworker would have to do 16 DA and 2 OS.