Automatically changing a cell value based on an annual date

jlax87

Hi there,

I am a teacher at a high school and am currently creating an Excel workbook to record students who need learning adjustments made.
On the table I have various columns of data, with student names listed in column B with their CURRENT year level in column A.
I’m not sure this is possible, but ideally I would like the year group (be it 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 or 12) to automatically change to the next value up at round the 7th November every year. This would save me or someone else going in and updating all the students year groups to the next year (i.e. On November 7th each year, all student names assigned as year “7” would change to show “8”; all year “8” values would change to “9”.
Obviously this could be managed relatively quickly manually or with a macro, but it would be great it it worked by itself.

I tried creating a column showing the =today() function and then tried to build conditional formatting equation on the Year Level column in column A, but I am not skilled in that particular area so bombed out pretty quickly.

Would anyone have any ideas about how to achieve the outcome I am desiring?

Thank you!

Jess

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
In some empty cell you could enter the student's start date and in an adjacent cell the start group. Then at any point in time you could use the start date and TODAY() to determine how many years have elapsed since the student started and increment the start group number accordingly.

Upvote 0
This is a little more elaborate than JoeMo's suggestion.