Automating insert of rows at relative position and copy of data between worksheets

CiderDrinker

I am a martial arts instructor and I keep my attendance records in an Excel workbook. There is one worksheet for each of four schools, a Master and a Consolidated (as the students are allowed to train at more than one venue, so I need to have a record of their attendance at their "home" venue and any extras they do on top). This works well, but is very laborious when a new student joins, as I need to insert their name into the correct alphabetised position in the Master sheet as well as on all of the individual school worksheets.

I would like some advice on how to automate this part of the process. I have researched this via Google but cannot find anything that quite meets what I am trying to achieve. I imagine it would also be useful for anyone else who keeps attendance registers for more than one venue

The spreadsheet contains the student name, their home school and the month, with the subsequent columns headed with the numbers 1 to 31 and a formula to sum these (I enter a 1 for each hour they attend under each date). At the moment, when somebody new joins the class, I go to their position in the register, insert a row, and enter their basic details. I then use the following simple macro to copy that row down 11 times (for the remaining months) and insert each of the months of the year

<code>Sub CopyDownStudent()
For i = 1 To 11
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).EntireRow.Insert
ActiveCell.EntireRow.Copy ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).EntireRow
Next
For i = 0 To 11
ActiveCell.Offset(i, 3).Formula = "=DATE(YEAR(NOW())," & i + 1 & ",1)"
Next
End Sub
</code>