Automating Simple Email Forwards using VBA

HashiramaSenju

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey Guys,

I have a really annoying manual task I do everyday for work:
  1. Receive an email (always same subject and body format) into a shared mailbox in Outlook.
  2. In the body of that email it has a client name (again, always same format).
  3. I look up the client against the account manager name in an excel spreadsheet, and manually forward it on.
Currently, I have created a lookup file I Excel (Client, Account Manager, AM Email Address) and populated it with the information.

Now I need to produce some VBA script which will get this running!

N.b. I have never used VBA before but have other language experience

Many thanks all

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
Hi. This seems pretty straightforward. If it were me, I would use Outlook VBA rather than Excel VBA, simply because: (1) the bulk of the work seems to be undertaken by Outlook; and (2) the code is for you and it is not something that needs to be ciruclated to other people (meaning that you can circulate VBA code in macros of an excel spreadsheet, whereas there isn't an easy way of circulating code for use in Outlook). Diane Poremsky over at Slipstick answered a simialr issue a few years back.

Step 1 "Receive an email (always same subject and body format) into a shared mailbox in Outlook."

The article at this link sets out how to 'listen' our for any emails that meet certain conditions - if the subject is always the same, I wouldn't too much about the body format. (see also this post).

Step 2 "In the body of that email it has a client name (again, always same format)."