barcode scan only

Oldbill62

Good morning everyone,
As with several other posts on here I am a relative novice on codes and such like so please keep n replies really really simple! I wish to set a particular cell on spreadsheet (Windows 7) to accept only scanned from barcode data. Is it possible to protect cell to ensure keyboard input cannot be used please?
Thanks
Oldbill

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Its scanned in from various worksheets. The aim of the project is to remove the necessity to print off documents, sign them and then pay for them to be archived for next 5 years. We are currently printing a rainforest every day and if I could use the barcode scanners to input a employee id this would be acceptable for traceability

Upvote 0
I'm not sure that it is without having a barcode reader to hand to test it. I *think* that barcode readers work like keyboards so I'm not entirely sure that Excel would be able to tell the difference

Upvote 0
As long as the barcodes are more that a 3 or 4 digits long. This can be done with a small chunk of code with a timer event
No need for a barcode scanner to test to make this work. It is based on the fact that a barcode scanner can 'key' faster than a human.
An 11 digit barcode is scanned in less than 1 second (I think 'blink of an eye' is the technical term).
The same 11 digits by a human would be about 2-3 seconds if an Olympic sport.
so the sudo code for an on key event.
wait for a key entry.
start a timer.
wait for Enter key then stop timer.
look at elapsed time from first key to Enter key.
(barcode scanners can be set to send an Enter key after reading barcode)
If less than 1 second it must have come from a barcode scanner. otherwise assume it was keyed by a human.

Of course as soon as you said only scanner entry and no manual entry.