Been using excel for a number of years...

JamieCropley

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Been using excel for a number of years, recently graduated university, to get back into the job market I know I am going to have to improve my excel skills a lot more.

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
Welcome aboard and good luck with the job hunting! :)

Hi Jamie, Are you still trying to learn excel? I'm still learning - my story is that my skills in ixcel have stayed the same since I graduated more than 20 years ago - I'm learning quickly-ish again now though. I'm currently going through the Unmasking Excel book by Bill - how are you increasing your excel skills?

Hi both and Hi Rory long time no speak.

I started using Excel on version 2 in the early 90's. 30 years ago?

Most people use a small amount of Excel and then stop learning. I never stopped, after 30 years I'm still learning. It involves lots of frustration!

I picked up a book on VBA by John Walkenbach. I doubt it matters who wrote it just read a book. Learn VBA and you'll suddenly 'get' Excel.

But I have to say, once you've learnt a bit from a book, or if you haven't, the Excel questions forum here is the best teacher you'll ever have. It's real life problems and real life answers.

Don't look at RoryA's website until you're well-versed. Excel was a work of genius but it's the most complicated thing technically.

One tip, right click on the ribbon. There's one option unchecked, Developer. Tick it. Apart from VBA, the Insert menu is a lifechanger.

Hi Johnny
That was such an excellent introduction - thank you so much for me and anyone else feel really welcome in here.