Bin2Dec Function in Excel also available in Access ?

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
Hi Nick

Whilst I am not an Access expert by any means, I don't believe there is an equivalent Access function (it's only available in Excel via the Analysis Toolpak add-in anyway). You could write a custom function in VBA to do the same thing though. Could you elaborate on how you want to use it and under what circumstances? Thanks.

Upvote 0
Thanks for your help as always Richard

I was trying to get a priority list for our customers. Each client is listed and then has a YES/No for each field. Starting from left to right this determines the priority of the client - so for instance

Client Name, Preferential Client, Large Revenue Provider, Potential for Growth

has the values

Client A, Yes, No, No
Client B No, Yes, No
Client c No,Yes,Yes

etc

Someone suggested I could use Binary to set the priority and although it's new to me I thought about giving it a try e.g. changing Yes = 1, No = 0.
I was going to check using the equivalent to BIN2DEC but as you mentioned I don't think I have this option in Access. I did get a book on Access which has a way of using Excel Functions in Access

It suggested something like

Public Function GAMMALN(number As Integer) As Double

Dim xl As Object

Set xl = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
GAMMALN = xl.WorksheetFunction.GAMMALN(number)

Set xl = Nothing
End Function

could be used but I can't seem to get this to work for BIN2DEC

Anyway if you have any thoughts please let me know but please don't go to much trouble as I realised by simply setting each field after client name to Ascending I can get exactly what I need !

Thanks again for all your help

Nick

Upvote 0
Hi Nick