Bulk upload multiple Excel files as tables at once

Stoolen

I'm new to Access so any help would be appreciated. I have multiple Excel spreadsheets (seperate files)that I want to upload into Access as separate tables. Is there a way I can bulk upload them all at once? If not, if I'm able to make them all 1 file but seperate tabs, is it possible to upload the file into access and easily make each tab its own table?

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
First, xl sheets pretty much NEVER make for good database tables. Sheets are wide (columnar) while tables should be tall (rows/records) where related data is held in other tables.

You can use transferspreadsheet function to copy sheets into Access as tables, but only 1 at a time. To do a bulk copy would require code that loops thru wb sheets. Or you can link sheets as tables (ribbon>external data>new data source...

Either way, it is highly likely that you'd need to move data into properly related tables from the transfers/linked sheets. If you have not learned db normalization, I strongly suggest you do so, otherwise you will continually encounter roadblocks to getting at data.

Upvote 0
First, xl sheets pretty much NEVER make for good database tables. Sheets are wide (columnar) while tables should be tall (rows/records) where related data is held in other tables.

You can use transferspreadsheet function to copy sheets into Access as tables, but only 1 at a time. To do a bulk copy would require code that loops thru wb sheets. Or you can link sheets as tables (ribbon>external data>new data source...

Either way, it is highly likely that you'd need to move data into properly related tables from the transfers/linked sheets. If you have not learned db normalization, I strongly suggest you do so, otherwise you will continually encounter roadblocks to getting at data.