Calculate Duplicate Frequency

MisterMeehan

Hi,

New poster here :wink:

I have a large dataset (~100,000 rows) where I am trying to count the number of duplicate values in a given column. (There are a lot!)

I would like to generate two columns showing which numbers are duplicates (column 1) and how many times (frequency) that each number is repeated (column 2). Please see example below.

How do I do that?

Sorry if this is an obvious thing to work out, but I have no experience with anything other than rudimentary tasks in Excel. Furthermore, I cannot see an example of how to do this in the archives.

I trust this can be calculated using a formula because I wouldn’t know how to apply any Visual Basic. Please advise how to work this out in easy steps.

Thanks for any help given.

Numbers

DuplicateNo.

Frequency

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
I would suggest you try the COUNTIF or COUNTIFS functions, like this. Note that I've selected the entire column A; you can select the range A2 to A100000 or whatever if you like. Also, watch this and the other videos to learn everything you ever wanted to know about Excel's counting with criteria. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohGgZ5ik4Xo

Excel 2012
ABC
1NumbersDuplicateNo.Frequency
Sheet48
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
C2=COUNTIFS(A:A,B2)
C3=COUNTIFS(A:A,B3)
C4=COUNTIFS(A:A,B4)
C5=COUNTIFS(A:A,B5)

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Given that you have a huge set, try to run a pivot table...

Row\Col
B​
C​
D​
E​
F​
1​
NumbersRow LabelsCount of Numbers
2​
30​
2​
3​
30​
4​
4​
10​
2​
5​
10​
3​
6​
40​
Grand Total
11​
7​
40​
8​
40​
9​
20​
10​
20​
11​
20​
12​
20​
13​

Upvote 0
Hi and thank you for that explanation and I looked at that video. But this is not giving me a solution. Perhaps I didn't explain it clearly.