Calculate provisioning rate

grietjie

Office Version
  1. 2010
  2. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there!
I'm fairly new to using formulas in excel, so help would greatly be appreciated!
I need to calculate the male provisioning rate per hour (how many times the male visited the nest in an hour). I've tried IF and COUNTIF formulas, but I just can't figure it out.
Thank you in advance!
Male provisioning rate.jpg

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Welcome to MrExcel Message Board.
For Result Between 7 AM & 8 AM :
Excel Formula:
=COUNTIFS($J$2:$J$100,">=" & 7/24,$J$2:$J$100,"<"  & 8/24)

Upvote 0
Welcome to the board!

I think there's two different approaches here: Visits within an hour from any given time period or average visits per hour:
Excel Formula:
=COUNTIFS(TimeRange,">="&F3,TimeRange,"<"&F3+TIMEVALUE("1:00:00"),VisitsRange,"yes")

=ROUND(COUNTIFS(VisitsRange,"yes")/((MAX(TimeRange)-MIN(TimeRange))*24),2)
The first formula counts the visits during the next 60 minutes from the start time in F3.

The next formula counts the visits and divides them by the difference between the first and last observations. Since Excel handles times as part of a day (one hour = 1/24) I'm multiplying that with 24 to get the hours as whole number and minutes/seconds as the decimal part. I decided to wrap it all inside a ROUND function to see only the first 2 decimals but you can leave that out if you want to have the more exact number.

Upvote 0
Thanks! This really helped. I couldn't figure out how to include 'time'.
Is there a way to drag the formula across multiple days and times?
At the moment I am manually changing the hours for each day, which will take a lot of time since my data covers multiple months.

Upvote 0