Calculating a YTD value from multiple sheets.

Pittviper

Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

I am somewhat new to excel, but know the rudimentary basics.

What I am trying to do is simple, but just can't seem to put it all together.

I have 12 sheets, January - December, with financial info, obviously. All I want to do is, at this point, sum one cell from the identical sheets, differing only by the month name, but only up to, and including, the current month, which in this case, is February.

I know I can use the following:

=SUM(January:December!E54) to get a value, but need to stop at February. So, I also have used indirect, somewhat like the example below, which counts.

SUMPRODUCT(COUNTIF(INDIRECT("'"&Sheetnames!A1:A12&"'!E54))

and that works, where Sheetnames is a sheeet with January - December in cells A1-A12. But, I only want to use, say, in this case at this time, January and February.

I figured out how to find the current month, using:

=TEXT(NOW(),"mmmm")

But no matter what I've tried, I can't seem to combine using the above two examples, into a formula that will basically say: sum(indirect("'"&January:February&"'!E54)

I somehow need to incorporate the current month into the range of sheets.

I apologize for seeming dense on this, but I am very new to using Excel in this more advanced fashion, and am literally driving myself crazy!

So, if anyone can help, please feel free...

Thank all of you so much.

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.
I do not think INDIRECT can take 3D references. You can have a sheet called end and use that as the last sheet
Code:
=SUM(Jan:end!A7)

You would then move the other sheets in as need.

Upvote 0
... where Sheetnames is a sheeet with January - December in cells A1-A12. But, I only want to use, say, in this case at this time, January and February.