Calculating Hours Worked

bootj1234

Board Regular
I need help with determining a formula that would count total hours base on not looking at the “>=” in cells B3 and B4, and not looking at “<=” in cells C3 and C4.

Please see the following image for the outcome I am trying to achieve in cells D3 and D4

Thanks for the assistance.

2lazcqc.jpg

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
I need help with determining a formula

In D3, this assumes B column always contains >= and C always contains <=

Code:
=IFERROR((TIMEVALUE(SUBSTITUTE(C3,"<=","",1))-TIMEVALUE(SUBSTITUTE(B3,">=","",1)))*24,"")

Last edited:
Upvote 0
This is working great! Your response uses Function combinations I have never used before.

Thanks for the quick response and lesson!

Kindest regards - John

Upvote 0
Or

=IFERROR(TIMEVALUE(REPLACE(C1,1,2,""))-TIMEVALUE(REPLACE(B1,1,2,"")),"")

Upvote 0
One more question regarding the above formulas: how would the formula need to be modified to calculate based on a first meeting a condition from another cell with the text EVM? For sake of outcome, lets say that EVM is referenced from cell F1.

Thanks

Upvote 0
Maybe

=IF(F1="EVM",TIMEVALUE(REPLACE(C1,1,2,""))-TIMEVALUE(REPLACE(B1,1,2,"")),"")

Upvote 0
How would I incorporate this code MID($Q$3,16,3) into the formula to set a conditional by which
=IFERROR((TIMEVALUE(SUBSTITUTE(C3,"<=","",1))-TIMEVALUE(SUBSTITUTE(B3,">=","",1)))*24,"")can be executed to solve for the answer?

The code MID($Q$3,16,3)is identifying EVM in a text string in order to let the rest of the formula calculate.

Thanks

Upvote 0
How would I incorporate this code MID($Q$3,16,3) into the formula to set a conditional by which
=IFERROR((TIMEVALUE(SUBSTITUTE(C3,"<=","",1))-TIMEVALUE(SUBSTITUTE(B3,">=","",1)))*24,"")can be executed to solve for the answer?