Calculator: Given 3 variables, find 4th

philro

I would like to create a userform calculator that will calculate the missing fourth value when any three other values are given.

The formula is similar to y = a * b * c

At any given time I know three of the values but need a fourth quickly. I'm new to VBA and presume I need a separate formula for each variable. Long If.. Then statements???

Advice on keywords to search for or locations to find similar coding would be appreciated.

Thx,
philro

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN

Sandeep Warrier

I would like to create a userform calculator that will calculate the missing fourth value when any three other values are given.

The formula is similar to y = a * b * c

At any given time I know three of the values but need a fourth quickly. I'm new to VBA and presume I need a separate formula for each variable. Long If.. Then statements???

Advice on keywords to search for or locations to find similar coding would be appreciated.

Thx,
philro

Hi and welcome to the board!!

It is possible to make this, but you would need to know the equations that establish relation between the variables.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input *******="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

philro

I know the equation and it's similar to what's given here.

In cell 1: x=a*b*c
cell 2: a=x/(b*c)
cell 3: b=x/(a*c)
cell 4: c=x/(a*b)

How do I set this up in a calculator format such that the user enters three of the values and the fourth value is returned when the calculate button is hit? I want to make this reusable so that the user can not clear out the values but tweak the given variable to get the forth without having to reenter all values.

Thx

Sandeep Warrier

Your basic code should be something like

Code:
    If a = 0 Then
        a = x / (b * c)
    ElseIf b = 0 Then