Can anyone explain what's happening in this fairly simple code please?

Ironman

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi

I'm not good with VBA and I'm having difficulty understanding what the "sCurYearMonth" in the below code (supplied to me on this board many years ago) is doing. The below code has been commented out for years as I didn't need it, but now I do.

I want the msgbox to be triggered only once in the current month, when the value in I2 exceeds the value in I3 (both contain formulas), and then no more msgs until it's triggered again next month.

Does the below code do this? Many thanks!
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Range("I2").Value <= Range("I3").Value Then
  Range("I7").Value = 0
Else
  Dim sCurYearMonth As String
  sCurYearMonth = Format$(Date - WeekDay(Date, 2), "yymm")
  If sCurYearMonth <> Range("I7").Value Then
    Range("I7").Value = 1
    Range("J7").Value = sCurYearMonth
    MsgBox "Congratulations!" & vbNewLine & _
      "You've run more miles than you did last month!   ", vbInformation, "Monthly Mileage"
  End If
End If

End Sub

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
How about:

VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
'
    If Not Intersect(Target, Range("J1:J2")) Is Nothing Then                            ' <--- Set this to the range you want
'
        Dim sCurYearMonth As String                                                     '  Establish variable sCurYearMonth as a String
'
        sCurYearMonth = Format(Now, "YYMM")                                             ' Set the date variable to a yymm format ex 2109'
        If sCurYearMonth > Range("J7").Value Then                                       ' If this is a new month then ...