Can I add a new row to my table using a macro whilst my table is filtered?

Jeevz_87

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi All,

I'm having an issue with one of my spreadsheets where if I apply a filter to my table and then attempt to add a new row using a macro, I get a run time error which I cant seem to get passed!

Note: the spreadsheet must be able to add a new row whilst the table is filtered (the table gets shorter depending on the values being filtered)

I'm still new to using VBA but this is the code I'm currently using which copies a blank row with all the formatting in place and pastes as a new row to the bottom of the table;

VBA Code:
Public Sub Add_new_row_2()

Dim tbl As ListObject
Dim rw As Range

Set tbl = Sheets("Master Input").ListObjects(1)
Set rw = tbl.ListRows.Add.Range

Sheets("Master Input").Range("A2:HS2").Copy rw

End Sub

Is there a way to do add a new row whilst filters have been applied in this way?

Thanks

J

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
Give this a try:
VBA Code:
Sub test()

Dim nextRow As Long
    Dim firstCol As Long

With Worksheets("Master Input").ListObjects(1)
        nextRow = .Range.Row + .Range.Rows.Count
        firstCol = .Range.Column
    End With

Sheets("Master Input").Range("A2:HS2").Copy _
            Sheets("Master Input").Cells(nextRow, firstCol)

End Sub

Upvote 0
Hi Alex,

This worked great for the first time but then it didn't seem to work after that for some reason - not sure what happened!
It is close though as I filtered the table to a specific value and it did copy the row at A2:HS2 to the bottom of the table.

Is there a way for the code to find the last row in the table and paste the row there?

Thanks,

J

Upvote 0
It is finding the last row + 1 of the table and relying on the table autoexpand.
What happens on the 2nd pass ?

Upvote 0