Can you help me - I want to go to the next row down starting in column E

LordSnow548

Banned user
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

Please bear with me on this, im new to Excel.

When i get to the end a row of data say Col X row 6 i want to press return and go to Col E Row 7 so that data entry can then be completed again. A little bit like pressing return in MS word and starting a new line etc.

Is there a way this can be done? Im sorry i cant provide any examples as im such a newbie at this ive searched the internet but im clueless.

Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
Excel will either go to the next column or the next row, but it won't return to the middle of the next row.

What you want can be done with a macro, but you would have to install the macro to your file and then make sure your security settings will allow macros to run. The macro is not complicated but may be challenging for a newbie. If you're interested I can help.

Upvote 0
Excel will either go to the next column or the next row, but it won't return to the middle of the next row.

What you want can be done with a macro, but you would have to install the macro to your file and then make sure your security settings will allow macros to run. The macro is not complicated but may be challenging for a newbie. If you're interested I can help.

Hi,

Thanks for your reply, i would be very greatful for any help you could offer and im very much eager to learn, iv had my version of excel checked and im told that macros are able to run within it.

Upvote 0
Question: For any cell before Column X, when you press the Enter Key, which cell becomes active, the cell to the right of the cell you were in or the cell under it?

Upvote 0
Question: For any cell before Column X, when you press the Enter Key, which cell becomes active, the cell to the right of the cell you were in or the cell under it?