Cell references when inserting and deleting rows

Bithsa

Hi all!

I'm relatively new to more advanced Excel functions, so this question may be relatively easy to answer.

I have a spreadsheet with a list of employees that is copy and pasted for every month of the year. As of now, the spreadsheet only goes through June. There are four columns, employee name, month, completions monthly average, and completions YTD average.

I'm currently using this general formula to average all of the monthly averages as they inserted into the spreadsheet:

AVERAGEIF($B$2:B77,$B2,$G$2:G77) B=list of employee names, $B2 is a specific employee name and G is the column of monthly avg completions.

The issue that I am having is that employees are inserted and deleted occasionally as they join or leave the workplace...and this formula needs to be applicable to all of the employees on the list, which means it has to be dynamic in a sense. However, when rows are inserted/deleted the cell references get messed up. I know the INDIRECT() function is supposed to help with this but in my situation I am not trying to reference only one cell. When an employee is inserted, the formula for one employee now references the cell of a different employee which is NOT GREAT.

Is there any way I can have one formula that will not change when a new person is added/dropped and can be applied to each employee?

Sorry this was wordy! I just like to be clear. Let me know if this is confusing and I'll try to explain better or send an example spreadsheet. :p

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Hi all!

I'm relatively new to more advanced Excel functions, so this question may be relatively easy to answer.