Change cell colour conditional to position

keysol

Hi,
First off I'm a true newbie regarding VBA etc.

If I create a grid containing 28 columns and 19 rows, I would like to be able to enter the letter "A" in a cell somewhere in this grid and have excel colour green the cell where I entered the letter and then colour the rest of the column black.
I.E.: The column is L10:L28 and the user enters the letter "A" at cell L16. Cell L16 turns green and cells L17:L28 turn black.

Any help would be appreciated

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Try this:-
Place code in worksheet module:= Right click sheet tab, select "view Code", Code window appears , paste code.

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim Rng As Range
Set Rng = Range("A10").Resize(19, 28)
If Not Intersect(Rng, Target) Is Nothing Then
    If UCase(Target) = "A" Then
        Rng.Interior.ColorIndex = xlNone
        Target.Interior.ColorIndex = 4
        If Not Target.Row = 28 Then Target.Offset(1).Resize((Rng.Rows.Count + 9) - (Target.Row)).Interior.ColorIndex = 1
    End If
End If
End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi MickG,

Thanks for responding to my post.
I tried your suggestion without any luck. Nothing seems to happen. Please remember I am truly new to this so I might be missing a very basic point when it comes to incorporating the code into my spreadsheet. Unfortunately I'm unable to attach a screen shot. I right clicked to view code and pasted the code in "ThisWorkbook" The top fields of the window were "Workbook" and "Open". I don't know if this helps.

Regards,

Gerald

Upvote 0