change in order

WTFT

Hi There

This is probably a very simple thing, but I am no excel expert and am wondering if someone could suggest a formula. I have an employee schedule. Some employees have set rotations of shifts and others do not. I have assigned them all a number to start with based on the lines that they own but over time their seniority changes and I would like them on the schedule based on their seniority number. For example

ava 2 D D N N N
bill 4 DD
cora 3 NN
doug 1 N N D D D
ed 5 DN

I would like to change the number and have it populate the name attached and move the row of shifts in that line up or down depending on seniority to look like this
doug 1 N N D D D
Ava 2 D D N N N
Cora 3 N N
Bill 4 D D
Ed 5 D N

thanks in advance

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
I am assuming that each item in your table is in a separate cell and that the numeral is the seniority number.
My first impulse is to suggest that you highlight your table, select the DATA tab and then sort on column B ascending.

If you have something more complex then please bring that forward.

Upvote 0
Hi BrianJN1

Thanks for your reply

This is a bit more complicated than I described, in that I am using a 12 week master schedule that rotates. Seniority is calculated bi yearly and I have one tab for each week that pulls the data from the master schedule so that I can print off each weeks schedule separately. when I have an employee from another department transfer I have to insert a row into the master schedule based on their current seniority and that affects my weekly tabs. I was wondering if I used a line # or created a seniority column if I entered that into the tabs if it could pull the corresponding name and the shifts from that persons row into the weekly tab.

Not sure if this is any clearer. I am probably not explaining it right but then I am not really sure if it can be done myself lol