Change Worksheet Names

pbt

Is there a way to Renumber Worksheet names, that is Sheet 1, Sheet 2, etc, in the Properties Window on the fly with VBA?

I have a Master workbook with code that will take all worksheets from three different workbooks with multiple worksheets, and copy all worksheets from the three into the Master. This works fine

The problem that I am experiencing is all the sheets in the three workbooks have a sheet Name as a two digit number. After the Macro is ran, I get all my sheets from the three into my master, but I also get three additional sheets at the end. Sheet1, Sheet1 (2), and Sheet1 (3). All of which doesn't have any information on it. These three addition sheets are not needed and I don't what to have to do the easy step of just deleting them. I rather just not have them appear.

My thought is I have to Rename the worksheets in the three Workbooks starting with the first worksheet in Each workbook starting with Sheet1, so it doesn't happen,

The task would be a time consuming thing to do for every Workbook. That is why I'm reaching out for a better solution. BTY there are about 10-15 worksheets in each workbook.

Thanks
pbt

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
I took a look at the above link, but it is not what I need to do. My sheet tab names are okay. I am trying to change the Code Name of each sheet in the Properties window without typing it in for each sheet. Right now the code name is anywhere for Sheet20 to Sheet90 and is not consecutive because of additions and deletions thought the years. Actually there are only about 15-20 sheets in each Workbook.

I would like to change the Code Names to start at Sheet1 until the last worksheet in the Book.

Using Excel 2019.

Upvote 0