Check links to see if PDF docs exist on Internet

sheepdemon

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

I have an Excel sheet with a list of .pdf doc links online in it - these are placed into an online location by a third party supplier. I'd like a macro which can check these links and advise if the PDF documents exist online. Complicating this a bit is you don't just get a 404 if the doc isn't there, there is a custom 404 page which resolves and gives an error message about the file not existing.

I think using the HTML Head tag is likely what I want to do but I'm pretty new to this, any guidance or pointers on this would be appreciated :)

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Welcome to MrExcel forums.

Here is a macro you can try. It expects the URL to be in cell A1 on the active sheet and returns the result in B1. Once proved to be working it can be adapted to loop through multiple cells on the sheet.

VBA Code:
Public Sub Test_File_Exists()
    Dim fileExists As Boolean
    fileExists = URL_File_Exists(Range("A1").Value)
    If fileExists Then
        Range("B1").Value = "Found"
    Else
        Range("B1").Value = "Not found"
    End If
End Sub

Public Function URL_File_Exists(URL As String) As Boolean
    With CreateObject("MSXML2.XMLHTTP")
        .Open "HEAD", URL, False
        .send
        Debug.Print .Status, .statusText
        Debug.Print .getAllResponseHeaders
        Debug.Print .responseText
        If .Status = 200 Then
            URL_File_Exists = True
        Else
            URL_File_Exists = (InStr(1, .responseText, "Error the file doesn't exist", vbTextCompare) = 0)
        End If
    End With
End Function