Checkbox crashing/locking up excel resources ONLY when used after another VBA routine

Sah213

Hi All!

Hoping for some clever people to help out. I'm a VBA novice, but trying my best.

Context:
I have a large excel tool, with a lot of VBA included. Performance isn't perfect, but it's completely workable. I'm running Office 365 ProPlus 64 bit, other users running 32bit are also having this problem.

Problem:
I have 5 form control checkboxes included on 1 sheet. As an example, 1 of them is assigned to the below VBA in a module;

File-Copy-icon.png

VBA Code:
Sub EditStages()

With Application
    .Calculation = xlCalculationManual
    .EnableEvents = False
    .DisplayAlerts = False
    .ScreenUpdating = False
End With

Sheets("Project Data").UnProtect "CTCTool"

If Sheets("Project Data").Shapes("EditStagesCheck").ControlFormat.value = 1 Then
    Sheets("Project Data").Rows("44:60").Select
    Selection.EntireRow.Hidden = False
Else
    Sheets("Project Data").Rows("44:60").Select
    Selection.EntireRow.Hidden = True
End If

With Sheets("Project Data")
    .Protect Password:="CTCTool", AllowFiltering:=True, AllowInsertingHyperlinks:=True
    .EnableSelection = xlNoRestrictions
End With

With Application
    .Calculation = xlCalculationAutomatic
    .EnableEvents = True
    .DisplayAlerts = True
    .ScreenUpdating = True
End With

End Sub

If I click these checkboxes at any time they work perfectly UNLESS I have run 1 particular routine immediately before. Let's call that one RoutineA.

RoutineA does a number of things including making an ADODB connection, downloading a record set & then a number of formatting changes on other sheets.