Code to automatically insert usernames into cells

CAMARD2

Hey all,

I'm in need of a code that will automatically insert the username of the person who makes a change in a specific set of cells.

So for context I have cells C3, C29, C38, C42, C52 & A61 that start off empty by default. What I want is when somebody adds text to any of these cells, their username will automatically be inserted in cells I3, I29, I38, I42, I52 & I61 respectively (same rows)

I tried putting a code in place but I'm new to this VBA stuff and could not get something working.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
CAMARD2,
I am assumingthat you have the username in a variable, which I’ll call for this example ‘UserName’.The code to place the users name in the cells you referenced would be (replaceSheet1 with the sheet number your cells are on, if different)
Code:
[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000][/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Calibri][SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000]Sheet1.Range(“I3”).value = UserName[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000][/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Calibri][SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000]Sheet1.range(“I29”).value= UserName[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000][/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Calibri][SIZE=3][COLOR=#000000]
And so forth for the rest of the cells you need the username to appear in.
Computerman

Upvote 0
Hi,
Try the below code. Insert it in worksheet module. By the way, the range you mentioned as last A61 is ok or should it be C61 instead?. If it's ok I'd need to fix below code a little bot because I've considered it as a mistake and taken in the code C61 instead. Let me know.
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    If Target.Address = "$C$3" or _
Target.Address = "$C$29" or _
Target.Address = "$C$38" or _