Code to find a word in column D and copy data from column D to column J and paste to cell D1

mompy76

Hi guys/girls

I'm needing some help please. I am self taught macro writer and I am having issues trying to figure out how to write this macro. Essentially, this is what I am trying to do:-

- use a word filter on column D to find the word "Total" - there will be 8 rows in total
- copy the found content from Column D to Column J for these 8 rows (Note - these rows will be on a different line in each report - which is where i am coming unstuck)
- paste these 8 rows of data at cell D1

If you know of a better way to do this (other than using a word filter), I am happy for suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Re: Help - Code to find a word in column D and copy data from column D to column J and paste to cell D1

Do you want to keep the data the same, and just make a copy of it starting in the Column J?

I would use an Array, then go through all the data and put what you want in it, then copy the content of the array where you want.

Something like :

Code:
Dim arr(1 To 8) As Variant
Dim i As Integer, iRow As Integer

i=1

For iRow = 1 To Range("D10000").End(xlUp).Row
    If Cells(iRow,4)="Total" Then
        arr(i)=Range(Cells(iRow,4), Cells(iRow, 6)).Value 'change the number of columns
        i = i +1
    End If
Next

Range("J1:L8")=arr 'copy the data where you want NEED THE SAME SIZE

Upvote 0
Re: Help - Code to find a word in column D and copy data from column D to column J and paste to cell D1

Hi NotoriousPopol

Thanks for your response.

Sorry for the confusion ... thats not exactly what I am after.

I need to find the rows in column D that contain "Total". (I know that there are 8 in total throughout the raw data report)

Copy the rows containing "Total" from Column D to Column J (inclusive)