Colour a cell based upon certain logic.

funkychunkymunky

Hello All,

I am very new to VBA (Currently Day 3) and I have a problem.

I am trying to create a file that validates data. If the data is incorrect, it is highlighted in yellow. Following on from that I would like to hide all rows that have no incorrect data. This will make it easier for the people who have the fun job of correcting the data.

Most of the time i have an excel spread sheet that includes the list of acceptable fields for which I can go back and compare to.

From trawling through the internet and a couple of books I found the following formula, The one highlighted in Blue is what I want but it does not work with the second macro to hide the un highlighted columns as it does not recognise them as highlighted.

Is there any way to put the blue highlighted code in a similar format to the green highlighted code to the macro in purple works?

Sub HighlightIncorrectE1()

Dim ws As Worksheet
Set ws = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Raw_E1")

ws.Select
Dim FinalRow As Long
FinalRow = ws.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row

'Highlight any data that does not match using conditional formatting
With Range("A2:A" & FinalRow)
.Select
.FormatConditions.Delete
.FormatConditions.Add Type:=xlExpression, _
Formula1:="=COUNTIF(tmhncs_ids!$A:$A,A2) = 0"
.FormatConditions(1).Interior.Color = RGB(255, 255, 0)
Rows.Hidden = False
End With

'Highlight a field not using Conditional Formatting.
Set Rng = Range("C2:C" & FinalRow)
For Each cell In Rng
If cell.Value <> 1 Then cell.Interior.Color = RGB(255, 255, 0)
Next

End Sub

Option Explicit

Sub HideUncoloredRows()
Dim startColumn As Integer
Dim startRow As Integer

Dim totalRows As Integer
Dim totalColumns As Integer

Dim currentColumn As Integer
Dim currentRow As Integer

Dim shouldHideRow As Integer

startColumn = 1 'column A
startRow = 1 'row 1
totalRows = Worksheets("Raw_E1").Cells(Rows.Count, startColumn).End(xlUp).Row

For currentRow = totalRows To startRow Step -1