Column Row, move some row data, how??

excelboxnovice

I am very new to Excel so please excuse the limited knowledge of asking this question within this community.

I have a Column that contains emails in each row, however SOME of the rows contain the website url as well. I can't figure out HOW to separate the website into its own column while maintaining the SAME ROW because all the data within the row is associated with each other.

Here is examples. note: I have changed the domain/url to respect the privacy.

COLUMN A:

A1: mailto:contact@domain.com

A2: mailto:info@domain; http://www.domain.com/goto.php?type=l&agtid=129&url=www.domain.com;

A3: mailto:contact@domain.com

etc

I look forward to your reply and thank you in advance for your feedback.

Please try to keep the answers very detailed (step by step) because of my limited excel knowledge.

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
Hi there,

TEXTtoColumns is your friend on this query...

I will try to give an overview of what happens before you try it:

In the example at the bottom of this message I am assuming you only have data in column A,

If you have other data in columns afterwards (b,c and D in this example) then please note they could get overwritten (if there is data the system will ask you if you want to replace existing data), unless you insert extra columns. You can either insert extra columns, or copy your column to another sheet and run this same process

In the example you gave, we will use the ; (semi colon) as the character (delimiter) we will 'split' our text with.
Code:
mailto:info@domain; http://www.domain.com/goto.php?type=...ww.domain.com;

Doing a text to columns will create 3 columns (if you accept the overwrite existing data option that appears)