Combining Multiple Columns into one column without any blank cells

mdesroc

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
18
I need to be able to combine 3 columns with ranges that may change into one column without any blank cells.

For example, I have columns B, C and D filled with data, but the number of cells in each of those columns will change based on user choices other places in the spreadsheet.

Is it possible to combine the data from B, C, D into Column A automatically and if so how would I go about doing that?

Thank you for any help or advice you can offer.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.

norulen

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Messages
389
Try this Simple formula
=B2&C2&D2
If this isn what you are looking for let me know your input and output requirement for a sample data
 

mdesroc

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
18
Let me clarify a bit, because I think my phrasing was confusing. I want it to list what is in column B first, and then after the last thing from column B, list the first from thing column C, and then after the last thing in Column C, the first thing in column D.
MY issue is, I dont know how to do this when the number of cells in columns B, C and D change based user selections elsewhere in the spreadsheet.
 

norulen

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Messages
389
For the first part my formula should take care of it but i am not clear on this part. I dont understand what you are requirement is. hopefully someone else is able to understand and help you on this
MY issue is, I dont know how to do this when the number of cells in columns B, C and D change based user selections elsewhere in the spreadsheet.
 

VoG

Legend
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
63,651
Maybe

Code:
Sub test()
Dim LR As Long, i As Long
For i = 2 To 4
    LR = Cells(Rows.Count, i).End(xlUp).Row
    Range(Cells(1, i), Cells(LR, i)).Copy Destination:=Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Offset(1)
Next i
End Sub
 

mdesroc

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
18
Norulen, maybe this will help clarify, I have data in column B, C, and D. The number of entries I have in each column changes. I want column A to look like this automatically

B1
B2
C1
C2
C3
D1
D2
 

norulen

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Messages
389
May not be the shortest of the code but i am sure it ll work for you. (Assumption: First row of the sheet is header hence first row will not get copied. If required change B2,C2,D2 to B1,C1,D1
Code:
Sub Macro1()
rcB = ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, "B").End(xlUp).Row
rcC = ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, "C").End(xlUp).Row
rcD = ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, "D").End(xlUp).Row
    
    Range("B2", "B" & rcB).Copy
    Range("A2").Select
    Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
        :=False, Transpose:=False
    Range("C2", "C" & rcC).Copy
    Range("A" & ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row).Select
    Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
        :=False, Transpose:=False
    Range("D2", "D" & rcD).Copy
    Range("A" & ActiveSheet.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row).Select
    Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
        :=False, Transpose:=False
    
End Sub
 

mdesroc

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
18
Norulen,

It definitely copied all 3 columns, except it started the values from column C at cell A500 and column D at cell A1000 with a bunch of blanks in-between. Any way to fix that?
 

mdesroc

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
18
I copied his macro code exactly as it was listed in his post. Is there something else I need to add?
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,101,774
Messages
5,482,846
Members
407,365
Latest member
Leah Ashley

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top