Combo box changing case of letters

mmmreece

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
23
Hi. I have a combobox that needs to look up words that are not case sensitive. I use excel in a live environment where I have to look up records in a time sensitive manner. the problem I'm having is that if a word starts with a small f as in fRomAge (just made a word up there to demonstrate). Excel is changing it to Fromage or something as daft. I want CAT to be different from cat, CaT and CTa. and not to be changed whilst I'm typing. Has anybody got any clue how I can do this? There are multiple combo boxes on the same userform looking up a range for the input values and adding to the range if not found.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,276
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm sorry but I'm a bit confused.:eek:

You want the search to be case insensitive but you are worried about the case of what you are entering?

How are you searching?
 

mmmreece

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
23
I have a list of customers (for want of a better word). They use usernames that are unique to them. I get 20 to 30 seconds to get their record up. I type into the combobox and it autofills. for example, the username may be gdpc91 or iUchihA_HznO . Now if I try to type in iUchihA_HznO into the combo box the chance is that the i will turn into I in the lookup list. The lookup list is a range on a sheet. This means I have to type the name as best as I can and then go back and change any alterations that the autocomplete has made.
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,276
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
So you actually want things to be case sensitive?
 

mmmreece

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
23

ADVERTISEMENT

If I type gdpc91 into the combo box I don't want it to automatically change to GDpc91 if there is another user in the list called GDpSmith if you see what I mean. I want it to not change the case that I type in
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,276
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
How about not using a combobox?

Use a textbox to enter the user, a listbox with the list of the names and code to filter the values, case sensitively, in the listbox.
 

mmmreece

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
23
I'll have a go at that tomorrow. Thanks. I'll let you know how it works out.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,128,173
Messages
5,629,142
Members
416,366
Latest member
ChrisDXB1

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top