comment

patit

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2002
Messages
7
How can I have a message of intructions appear when I select a cell?
Thanks to anyone who can help.
 

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.

dk

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
2,942
Hi,

Probablt the easiest way is to use Data Validation.

Choose Data, Validation and then choose the Input Message tab.

You can enter a title and message which will appear each time the cell is selected.

If you wanted something more sophisticated then you could use VBA.
 

Tom@CPC

Board Regular
Joined
May 22, 2002
Messages
209
In addition to dk's great idea, you can use comments. while in the desired cell, From the Insert menu or by right clicking, select insert comment. You can put a message here. One thing to remember though is that you will need to set your comments for display. Go to Tools | Options | View and in the comments section, select your desired level. I generally just set it to show indicator. This will put a tiny triangle in top right corner of the cell where the comment is. When the user hovers over the cell, the comment will appear.

You could use this in conjuction with dk's data validation suggestion by setting your comment to something like "click this cell for more instructions".

HTH, Tom
 

patit

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2002
Messages
7
Thank you both. I think I'm gonna use data validation. I guess that to avoid the message to appear after I insert a value I should use VBA, isn't it?
Thanks for help.
Pat
 

Jack in the UK

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Messages
3,215
Does this offer a few ideas??


Sub Jacks_SpecialCommentBox()



' Jack Creates the comment.
ActiveCell.AddComment ("Type your text here!!!")
' Can have user name in top left by adding name between ""
ActiveCell.Comment.Visible = True
ActiveCell.Comment.Shape.Select

With Selection
'Jack Chooses the CLOUD AutoShape from Drawing T/Bar.
.ShapeRange.AutoShapeType = _
msoShapeCloudCallout

'Jack decides to have col(u)rs in the cloud.
.ShapeRange.Fill.PresetGradient _
msoGradientHorizontal, 1, _
msoGradientHorizon

' Jack decides to have BOLD and Italics, felt like it!
.Font.Name = "Arial"
.Font.FontStyle = "Bold Italic"

'Jack moves and resizes the cloud - as i wanted to!
Selection.ShapeRange.Adjustments.Item(1) = -1.1562
Selection.ShapeRange.ScaleWidth 1.4, msoFalse, msoScaleFromTopLeft

End With

End Sub
 

Mudface

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Messages
3,339
On 2002-10-18 11:03, patit wrote:
Thank you both. I think I'm gonna use data validation. I guess that to avoid the message to appear after I insert a value I should use VBA, isn't it?
Thanks for help.
Pat

Yes, the following should you, change the column number to your actual number (A=1, B=2, etc): -

<pre>
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

With Target
If .Count <> 1 Then Exit Sub ' remove this if you want to allow copy and pastes _
note copy and paste will override your validation if different
If .Column <> 1 Then Exit Sub
.Validation.Delete
End With

End Sub
</pre>
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,143,708
Messages
5,720,388
Members
422,282
Latest member
psunith

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top