Complete WorkBook Scenario Question

Eradicator

Specific Questions follow at the end of this post that can be addressed independantly. Please reply. This is an urgent request with time not on my side.

Thanks!

Background:

I am a Tax Man (Auditor) by profession and am the team leader on a project where huge export companies are being inspected for compliance with export regulations. I streamlined the process to the following:

I prepared a spreadsheet that is printed which has a space for the Date of the Sale, The Invoice Number, and then it lists the various methods of export and the related specific requirements of the export regulations as per export method.

For instance:

Method1: Road.
Requirements: Invoice, CustomsDocs, ProofOfDelivery, ProofOfPayment.

Method2: Rail.
Requirements: Invoice, TransitOrder, ProofOfPayment.

The Date, Invoice, Method and Requirements fields are followed by a space big enough for the tax payer to put down his signature. There is space for 10 invoices on a page. This sheet is printed and consulted in the investigation.

A red pen is used to supply the date and invoice number, and to select the method of export and to tick the requirements that were met. This is repeated for each and every export in the period under review. When the 10th invoice was dealt with, the sheet is handed to the tax payer for signature. This takes several days to complete.

The next step is for me to start working through those pages and pages of red-pen-marked schedules, so as to present my findings in an orderly fashion to a Technical Committee charged with the responsibility of making final decisions on the tax payers’ compliance with the regulations and ultimately his fate. You can appreciate the effort that is pumped into an exercise like that, to get it ready and presentable for decision-making.