Office Version
  1. 2021
  2. 2019
  3. 2016
  4. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
Noob here.
I see 2 possible solutions for the same problem. So first i will try to describe it simply with the possibility to get a simple answer.

I have 4 drop down list. first list is ALL, feed, treats, equipment. second is ALL, chickens, dogs, cats. Third is jan, feb, mar, ....... 4th is 2022, 2023, 2024, ......... on another sheet i have cells with list for each, type, animals, date. I created a sumifs that works for each item individually. But i have not figured out a way to do the ALL for any list.

Is there a way to redifne the word all? meaning all will sum all of the words in another table. Hopefully i explained it well.

Ok so if that is not possible or understandable, here is the next possible solution i see. I could not figure out a way to add the If infront of the Sumifs.

here is the working one
Excel Formula:
=SUMIFS(Bought!G2:Bought!G332, Bought!I2:Bought!I332, ">="&'Date sheet'!I1,  Bought!I2:Bought!I332, "<="&'Date sheet'!J1, Bought!C2:Bought!C332, B5, Bought!A2:Bought!A332, B4)

B4 is the type list
b5 is the animal list

I feel like i am having a hard time explaing it well.

Thanks in advance for any help

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
What version of Excel are you using?

I suggest that you update your Account details (or click your user name at the top right of the forum) so helpers always know what Excel version(s) & platform(s) you are using as the best solution often varies by version. (Don’t forget to scroll down & ‘Save’)

Maybe
Excel Formula:
=SUMIFS(Bought!G2:G332, Bought!I2:I332, ">="&'Date sheet'!I1,  Bought!I2:I332, "<="&'Date sheet'!J1, Bought!C2:C332,if(B5="All","*",B5), Bought!A2:A332, if(B4="All","*",B4))

Upvote 0
What version of Excel are you using?