Conditional Format 2 rows from value in one row

Greg Stough

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
New member on Mr. Excel, and this is my first post.

I know how to format an entire row based on the value of one cell. That's pretty straight forward, and I use that regularly. What I'd like to do is to format two (or more) rows based on the a value of a single cell. For example; When cell A1 has a value of "123" I want to apply conditional formatting to on A1:L1, BUT, I also want to format B1:L2 because value "123" is found in A1. I know how to create the formula to conditionally format the first row, but I can't figure out how to format the next row with that same formula. Of course I could create a second formula for for the second row, but I'd prefer a cleaner single solution approach. Fair enough?

Background, for those that like to read...
I'm a Business Analyst, and sometimes use Excel in some very non-traditional ways. During software testing a concatenated text file may be generated with several thousand lines (or 10's of thousands) of order information on it. The first part of each line is a "tag" that identifies the type of information found on that row (name, address, item number, PO, number, etc). But the next row may have a different tag, and entirely different information. But there will also be repeating patterns of rows too. For example there may be 6 rows (each with different types of data), and that 6-row pattern may then repeat 100's of times, but with information from entirely different orders.