Conditional format based on various cells

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
Could anyone please advise on conditional formatting?

I'm trying to use a formula to have say cell a1 to change colour IF cell d1 has any input?

I've been trying conditional formatting in cell a1 as - If(d1="",TRUE,FALSE) but no change happens with input to cell d1.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
30,571
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
How about
=D1<>""
 

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
I tried '=IF(G14<>"",TRUE,FALSE)' but doesn't seem to work.
 
Last edited:

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
41,844
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
I tried '=IF(G14<>"",TRUE,FALSE)' but doesn't seem to work.
What does column G have to do with anything? It wasn't mentioned in post 1. :confused:

Fluff's suggestion works for me as I understand what you wrote in post 1.

Excel Workbook
ABCD
13
2ddd
3
4text
523.2
6
7x
CF
Conditional Formatting
CellConditionFormat
A11. / Formula is =D1<>""Abc
 

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
Apologies Peter I was using A1 and D1 just as an example. My worksheet has a number of cells that I would need to meet the condition.

I was just hoping that I could grasp the idea from a example supplied here


Thank you so much to you and fluff for the support.
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
30,571
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
In that case, maybe something like
=COUNTA(D1,G4,C15,E5)=4
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
41,844
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
I was just hoping that I could grasp the idea from a example supplied here
So, have you been able to do that?

BTW, in Conditional Formatting you never need something like
=IF(condition, TRUE,FALSE)

Just state the condition
=condition
and it will be itself TRUE or FALSE and the CF will work on that.
That is what Fluff's & my formulas do - no IF()
 

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
Good morning fluff and Peter.
Fluff I have used the COUNTA function and have been getting the desired result :)
I couldn't get the D1,G4,C15,E5=4 to work for me properly.
I've had to go to each individual cell and use CF with 'COUNTA(G4). Next cell COUNTA(G5) and so on.

It certainly does what I require but I'm sure you guys will scoff at that.
I tried using a range ie. COUNTA(G4:G20) but that didn't work.
Could you just explain what =4 at the end of your formula meant please fluff?
 
Last edited:

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
30,571
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Counta counts any cell that is not completely empty, as I used 4 cells in the example I used =4, so if all 4 cells contain something counta will return 4 so you end up with 4=4 which returns true.

If you had 5 cells in the counta formula you would need to change it to =5
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,078,541
Messages
5,341,061
Members
399,414
Latest member
EMW2159

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Problem with Radio Button's format control
    I am creating an employee evaluation template (a sample is below) Column A is the category Column B, C D, E and F will be ratings (unacceptable...
  • Last Display on userform to a Listbox
    [CODE=vba] lstdisplay.ColumnCount = 15 lstdisplay.RowSource = "A1:O600000" [/CODE] So when i do this it Displays everything on the sheet i am...
  • Rename and move files to a new location
    Dear all, I have an excel file with the following information. The actual file name is at column A but i want to rename it using the following...
  • Help with True/False Formula
    Hello! Am stumped how to fix this formula, in which my result returns 'True', but it should return False. =IF(AG2=True...
  • Clear extra characters from a provided range of cells
    Dear All, I have following code which gives me desired output to remove extra characters from a provided range. But it takes too much time when...
  • Help with Current and highest streaks
    Hi there, I've just joined the forum and this is my first post. I've already spent quite a bit of time searching the net and this forum for a...
Top