Conditional format based on various cells

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
Could anyone please advise on conditional formatting?

I'm trying to use a formula to have say cell a1 to change colour IF cell d1 has any input?

I've been trying conditional formatting in cell a1 as - If(d1="",TRUE,FALSE) but no change happens with input to cell d1.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,209
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
How about
=D1<>""
 

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
I tried '=IF(G14<>"",TRUE,FALSE)' but doesn't seem to work.
 
Last edited:

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
42,240
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
I tried '=IF(G14<>"",TRUE,FALSE)' but doesn't seem to work.
What does column G have to do with anything? It wasn't mentioned in post 1. :confused:

Fluff's suggestion works for me as I understand what you wrote in post 1.

Excel Workbook
ABCD
13
2ddd
3
4text
523.2
6
7x
CF
Conditional Formatting
CellConditionFormat
A11. / Formula is =D1<>""Abc
 

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
Apologies Peter I was using A1 and D1 just as an example. My worksheet has a number of cells that I would need to meet the condition.

I was just hoping that I could grasp the idea from a example supplied here


Thank you so much to you and fluff for the support.
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,209
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
In that case, maybe something like
=COUNTA(D1,G4,C15,E5)=4
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
42,240
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
I was just hoping that I could grasp the idea from a example supplied here
So, have you been able to do that?

BTW, in Conditional Formatting you never need something like
=IF(condition, TRUE,FALSE)

Just state the condition
=condition
and it will be itself TRUE or FALSE and the CF will work on that.
That is what Fluff's & my formulas do - no IF()
 

smcelv

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
51
Good morning fluff and Peter.
Fluff I have used the COUNTA function and have been getting the desired result :)
I couldn't get the D1,G4,C15,E5=4 to work for me properly.
I've had to go to each individual cell and use CF with 'COUNTA(G4). Next cell COUNTA(G5) and so on.

It certainly does what I require but I'm sure you guys will scoff at that.
I tried using a range ie. COUNTA(G4:G20) but that didn't work.
Could you just explain what =4 at the end of your formula meant please fluff?
 
Last edited:

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,209
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Counta counts any cell that is not completely empty, as I used 4 cells in the example I used =4, so if all 4 cells contain something counta will return 4 so you end up with 4=4 which returns true.

If you had 5 cells in the counta formula you would need to change it to =5
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,018
Messages
5,362,702
Members
400,686
Latest member
Aakash

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top