Conditional format performed on separate rows

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hi:

I would like highlight the lowest cell value on each of the rows. On the example below I would like to highlight the cell Items 1 - 46, Items 2 - 55, Item 5 - 42, Item 6 - 70.

Do I need to conditional format each row individually?

Easier solution?
MILLER21.XLS
BCDEFGHIJKL
8No.12345678910
91708486858472100856646
1021008274556882100889282
113
12
1351008075484466100917042
1461008478707674100978284
1st qtr


Tks in advance

pll
This message was edited by plettieri on 2002-11-03 18:13
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.

Blacky

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Messages
105
Try entering the cell value is equal to
=MIN(1:1) in row 1 and using your format painter (paint brush onthe tool bar) to copy it down.

HTH
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Sorry Blacky,

Please clarify....

Which cell is your formula =MIN(1:1) entered into?

tks
pll
 

PaddyD

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
14,234
1) select the top, left-most cell of your data (say A1), then highlight the rest
2)go to format | conditional formatting
3) select formula is
4) enter

=A1=MIN(1:1)

5) select an appropriate format, hit OK

change the references in (4) to suit. Cos we have used relative references, excel will amend the formula appropriately for each cell in the selection.

paddy
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS

ADVERTISEMENT

Tks Paddy and Blacky,

I failed to indicate that my range to condition does not extend accross the full row. The range to condition is col a to z (I have about 500 rows and must identify the lowest number bewteen Cols a and z for each row, so I think I might need something else.

I initally headed in the conditional formatting direction....but maybe I should be doing something different.


Tks for looking

pll
 

PaddyD

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
14,234
same procedure, change to:

=A1=MIN(a1:z1)

in step (4)

paddy
 

Blacky

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Messages
105

ADVERTISEMENT

This works for row 6.

In cell A6 - enter the following formula in the Conditional Formating dialog box as Cell Value is Equal to

=MIN($A6:$Z6)

then copying the format to the other rows you want to use.

HTH
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
I'm Back again.....

One more wrinkle....I have a situations where the lowest number appears two or three times in that range...I only want to highlight the first one found.


pll
 

PaddyD

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
14,234
for, eg, cells in row 10, the cf would be:

=ADDRESS(ROW(A10),COLUMN(A10),4,1)=ADDRESS(ROW(A10),MATCH(MIN(10:10),10:10,0),4,1)


paddy
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,822
Messages
5,598,304
Members
414,224
Latest member
Crazy_FC

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top