Conditional Formatting based on time (timer)

Tom Rosati

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hi there,
I work in a hospital. I'm creating a sheet to monitor the client's waiting time.
I would like the color of the cell to turn green the moment the arrival time is inserted, to turn yellow after 15min of wait, to turn orange after 30mins and red after 1 hour.
I'm struggling to write conditional formatting that would work for this.
I am assuming the sheet will need to refresh frequently in order to evaluate the time difference btw real-time and arrival time. I am considering the option to run this through Google Sheets, so I would be able to check stuff from the remote. I am assuming conditional formatting rules should be the same, is this correct?

The time of arrival is currently inserted manually but I am also wondering if there is an easy way to allow automatic insertion of arrival time (based on real-time) by simply clicking on the cell. Occasionally, arrival time is inserted at a later stage, so I would still need the option to insert it manually.

Any advice would be highly appreciated!

Thanks

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)
The following information refers to Excel
For the conditional formats,
-assuming that Z1 contains =NOW()
-if for example the arrival date is in column F
-then you may set a conditional format for yellow using in column F (for example in F1:F100) the criteria "use a formula to determine which cell formatting" and the formula =AND($Fa<>"",(Z1-$F1)>15/1440) 15/1440 means 15 minutes
-you may add additional conditions using 30/1440 (Orage) and 60/1440 (Red)
Of corse this requires that Z1 ("Now") be updated frequently; if your procedures cannot guarantee this then you should consider to schedule a macro every 1 minute using OnTime)