Conditional Formula

Cagey93

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
25
This would probably be a very simple question, but I can’tseem to get it right.

What I need is a formula in a cell to say if this cell = a set of months i.e.January, April, July and so on then show this list of tasks and if the other monthsshow another set so example.

=IF(C5=January,Feb,Mar) then it should show cell range “Values!C5-C9”
Or IF(C5=April, May, June) then show “Values!C10-C15”.
If this isn't making sense apologies.

 

PCL

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
1,345
Is C5 a date or just a month name string ?
How would you like to show several cells ?
 
Last edited:

Cagey93

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
25
Show an example how to display it !
So C5 will be the current month i.e. November for now.
So, from a monthly basis the tasks will change weather it’sa Quarter end or just a regular month.

So, for example I would like it if its January to display inCells C7-C17 the list of tasks for that month
And if it’s another month to display another set of tasks inthose cells. So if its November like the below it will show a list of tasks inthe cells below.
November
XXXX

XXXX
XXXX
XXXX
There are only 2 lists so it needs to be if its one of Xmonths show this but if one of Y months show this.
 

PCL

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
1,345
if its November like the below it will show a list of tasks inthe cells below.

From where to pick up the list ???
 

Cagey93

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
25
The first list is C3:C13 on Sheet3 and the second list is F3:F6 on Sheet3
 

PCL

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
1,345
You mentioned that in C5 will a month name: January, February, March etc ...
Depending if it is a regular month : January, February, we have to display in cell C7 to C17 a list of data .... C3:C13 on Sheet3 .. is it ?
If it is a end quarter month: March, June etc...
we have to display in cell C7 to C10 a list of data .... F3:F6 on Sheet3 .. is it ?

 

PCL

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
1,345
So if my understanding is correct you could do:
C5 = Today() and use a custom format like "mmmm" it will display only the month of today
C7 =IF(MAX(IFERROR(FIND({1,2,4,5,7,8},MONTH($C$5)),0))=0,Sheet3!F3,Sheet3!C3)
confirm using Contole + Shift + Enter some curlybracket will appear
Copy C7 and drag down to C10
C11 =IF(MAX(IFERROR(FIND({1,2,4,5,7,8},MONTH($C$5)),0))=0,"",Sheet3!C7)
confirm using Contole + Shift + Enter some curlybracket will appear
Copy C11 and drag down to C16
 
Last edited:

PCL

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
1,345
Another more simple ... without Control + Shift + Enter

C5 = Today() and use a custom format like "mmmm" it will display only the month of today

C7 ==IF(ISERROR(FIND(TEXT(MONTH($C$5),"dd"),"03,06,09,12")),Sheet3!C3,Sheet3!F3)
Copy C7 and drag down to C10

C11 ==IF(ISERROR(FIND(TEXT(MONTH($C$5),"dd"),"03,06,09,12")),Sheet3!C7,"")
Copy C11 and drag down to C16
 

Cagey93

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
25
Another more simple ... without Control + Shift + Enter

C5 = Today() and use a custom format like "mmmm" it will display only the month of today

C7 ==IF(ISERROR(FIND(TEXT(MONTH($C$5),"dd"),"03,06,09,12")),Sheet3!C3,Sheet3!F3)
Copy C7 and drag down to C10

C11 ==IF(ISERROR(FIND(TEXT(MONTH($C$5),"dd"),"03,06,09,12")),Sheet3!C7,"")
Copy C11 and drag down to C16
That is correct the cell does display the month as =Today() and uses MMMM to show the actual text so i will give this option a wirl and see if it brings it back.

Thank you :)
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,309
Messages
5,364,424
Members
400,801
Latest member
julievandermeulen

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top