CONDITIONAL VLOOKUP MULTIPLE VALUES, MULTIPLE SHEETS - VLOOKUP-INDEX? INDEX-MATCH?

jpd126

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hello,

I recently linked a workbook with multiple worksheets to the SQL database of our financial system. I am trying to now make the thousands of lines in each of these tables more end-user friendly. In many of these tables there a duplicate fields that I want to use to link to a master sheet, but I am having trouble developing the proper conditional equation to look at two sheets, two different fields and if the match populate a third field. I have tried Index, Match and vlookup but with not luck. I think once I get assistance with this formula will be be in great shop to work with the rest of the data. I am just stuck with this formula to start. I am uploading two simplified sheets for review and below is an explanation of what I am trying to do. I am new to the message board and appreciate any assistance. Happy New Year!

img_ES1: This sheet contains the master data.
img_PS1: This sheets contains data that will help give clarify to the master data sheet.

I am trying to have the formula look at prep_proj and prep_pay columns in sheet ES1 and compare it to prpt_proj and prpt_code sheet PS1. If they both match then I want it to put prpt_long from sheet PS1 into "PR_PAY_DESCRIPTION" in sheet ES1.

Thank you for any assistance.

Attachments

• img_PS1.PNG
    img_PS1.PNG
    28.4 KB · Views: 10
  • img_EM1.PNG
    img_EM1.PNG
    13 KB · Views: 11

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
I am trying to have the formula look at prep_proj and prep_pay columns in sheet ES1 and compare it to prpt_proj and prpt_code sheet PS1. If they both match then...