Copy entire row if value equals, paste in different range.

wdrvx

Hey Guys,

I'm a VBA beginner and I've spent last 6 hours trying to make my macro copy content of one worksheet into another if cell value equals certain string. It works well when the data is pasted in the exact same columns (A:Q) but it doesn't when I try to paste the data into a different range (C:S).

Excel tells me that it cannot be pasted because copy and paste area are of different shape and size which is untrue. The same operation is completed without a problem when done manually or using simple destination copy without a condition.

Below is my code:

Code:
Sub copydata()    
    Dim value As Range
    Dim start As Integer
    Dim srcSh As Worksheet
    Dim trgSh As Worksheet

Set srcSh = ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("Data")
    Set trgSh = ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("Ready")

start = 12

For Each value In srcSh.Range("A2:Q500")
        If value = "Reviewed" Then
           srcSh.Rows(value.Row).copy trgSh.Rows(start).Range("C12")
           start = start + 1
        End If
    Next value
End Sub

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
It is because if this line here:
Code:
srcSh.Rows(value.Row).copy trgSh.Rows(start).Range("C12")
You are copying the whole row, meaning every single possible column in that row.
If you do that, the only way it will work if if you paste it into column A of your destination sheet. If you choose any other column, it will not work, as it would go off the page.

Actually, I am not quite sure I understand your destination range reference. It looks odd and possibly incorrect:
trgSh.Rows(start).Range("C12")
You only would have one range reference, either Rows or Range, but not both.
What exactly are you trying to do there?

Upvote 0
Hi Joe,

Thanks for the explanation, I did not realize it works in such a way :)