Copy rows based on cell value "Open" from multiple sheets

Excelme at work

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
18
I have a workbook with multiple tabs which each represent a different workstream / working group.
Each tab is effectively an action tracker based on each meeting group.

I would like a summary page to search for all items that are listed as "open" in Column i, and then copy the entire rows to the summary sheet.
I would need this function to search all the tabs for each workstream and then create 1 open action list.

Is this possible?
 

Excelme at work

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
18
Open is selected from drop down box but can remove that. Just tried didn't make a difference, this new version of excel does not seem to make it easy to find and run VBA.
Will add a dropbox link now to spreadsheet
 

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,168
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Dropdown won't make any difference if the text is correct....I will take a look at the link !
 

Excelme at work

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
18
This is the whole file. I removed the dropdown option from one of the sheets to see if it made a difference. Really appreciate you taking the time


EDIT: File removed by request of OP.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,168
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
The code won't find "Open" because you have a trailling space after "Open "
Do you want me to adjust the code to see that space...OR..will you fix it at your end ??
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,168
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Also, you haven't told us what version you are using, but to activate the Developer Tab...
The Developer tab isn't displayed by default, but you can add it to the ribbon.

  1. On the File tab, go to Options > Customize Ribbon.
  2. Under Customize the Ribbon and under Main Tabs, select the Developer check box.

Please update your profile to show your Excel version AND Platform ( Mac, windows)
 

Excelme at work

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
18
Arrrr. Legend, I fixed it my end and the code works now.
Thank you. I copied the Open / Closed list from a previous spreadsheet made by someone else, I would never have found that mistake. All the internet points to you!
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,168
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Don't worry, it happens more often thatn you think... :cool: (y)
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,168
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Well, if you run the code more than once you WILL get things repeated....
Do you want to clear the "Summary" Sheet before the code is run each time ??
If so, use
VBA Code:
Sub MM2()
Dim sh As Worksheet, lr2 As Long, lr As Long, r As Long
Sheets("Summary").Rows("9:" & Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row).Delete
lr2 = Sheets("Summary").Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row + 1
    For Each sh In Worksheets
        If sh.Name <> "Summary" Then
             sh.Activate
             lr = Cells(Rows.Count, "I").End(xlUp).Row
                 For r = 9 To lr
                    If Cells(r, "I").Value = "Open" Then
                        Rows(r).Copy Sheets("Summary").Range("A" & lr2)
                    lr2 = lr2 + 1
                    End If
                Next r
        End If
    Next sh
End Sub
 

Excelme at work

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
18
Yes I realised that's what was happening. I just ran a macro to delete and have put a delete button and a refresh list button. What would be the edit in the code to clear the summary page each time the code is run?
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,130,005
Messages
5,639,500
Members
417,091
Latest member
rickbossman

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top