Copy table without keys and index etc.

kjharve

Board Regular
Hi all,

I am new to this database lark - trying hard though. What I want to do is use a spreadsheet to update information in a table. The spreadsheet will contain some new records and some existing records. It may also contain some errors - key violations etc. I'll be using VBA to automate this as there will be about 30 tables and 20 or so spreadsheets.

The way I plan to do this is to copy the destination table as a temporary table and add all of the records contained in the spreadsheet using TransferSpreadsheet. Then I will remove any records that have a newer instance and correct any errors.

If I do this though, the table will reject any record of the spreadsheet that does not meet the criteria and dump to an errors table with the expectation that the errors would be corrected manually and re-uploaded. I'd like to remove this responsibility from the user as best I can though.

I guess what I am asking is: how can I create a copy of a table without copying the rules as well?

Am I making life hard for myself? Is there any easier way of doing this?

Help appreciated!

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.
Kev,
Your last question, "Am I making life hard for myself?" and "Is there any easier way of doing this?" I would have to say YES to both questions, but I really can't because there is not enough information here, at least for me, to be able to help.
But I do have some questions. What are you really trying to do? Why do you want to use a spreadsheet to update data in a table? Is there something that just does not work about Access forms? Or do you know how to work with Excel, but not Access?