Copy value from cell above if blank

Mux99

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
25
In column A every two cells are merged (A1 with A2, A3 with A4 etc...) so my formula only works properly for odd number rows. I need the below to use the value from the cell above if A6 is empty and so on.

=IF(Sheet1!$B6<>"", Sheet1!$A6,"")
 

JoeMo

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
16,666
Maybe:
Code:
=IF(Sheet1!$B6<>"", IF(MOD(ROW(Sheet1!A6),2)=0,Sheet1!$A5,""))
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
32,226
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Maybe
=IF(Sheet1!$A6="",Sheet1!$A5,Sheet1!A6)
 

Mux99

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
25
Maybe
=IF(Sheet1!$A6="",Sheet1!$A5,Sheet1!A6)
Also did not work for what I'm trying to do but maybe it's my fault as maybe I wasn't clear enough with what I need. Ignore my first post and see the examples below. I need a formula to output the same results as in Sheet2.

In Sheet2 Column B I'm using the formula and it works perfectly. =IF(Sheet1!$B1<>"", Sheet1!$B1,"")

I need some help with the column A formula as the following only works with odd number rows. =IF(Sheet1!$B1<>"", Sheet1!$A1,"")


Sheet1AB
1Name1500
2
3Name2
4
5Name3600
6300
7Name4
8400

<tbody>
</tbody>


Sheet2AB
1Name1500
2
3
4
5Name3600
6Name3300
7
8Name4400

<tbody>
</tbody>
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
42,244
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
In cell A1 of Sheet2, try this formula and copy down.

=IF(Sheet1!B1="","",LOOKUP("zzz",Sheet1!A$1:A1))
 

Mux99

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
25
In cell A1 of Sheet2, try this formula and copy down.

=IF(Sheet1!B1="","",LOOKUP("zzz",Sheet1!A$1:A1))
Thanks. This one worked but I already got it working with the formula below.

=IF(Sheet1!$B2<>"",IF(Sheet1!$A2<>"",Sheet1!$A2,Sheet1!$A1),"")
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
42,244
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Thanks. This one worked but I already got it working with the formula below.

=IF(Sheet1!$B2<>"",IF(Sheet1!$A2<>"",Sheet1!$A2,Sheet1!$A1),"")
That sort of indicates that in fact your data & results probably actually start on row 2 of each sheet, not row 1 as indicated in your tables in post 5? (Or else that formula is entered on row 2 of Sheet2 and copied up to row 1 which, while working actually creates a #REF ! error in the formula.

If everything (apart from any headings) actually starts on row 2, then you could also use this simpler version in A2 of Sheet2, copied down

=IF(Sheet1!B2="","",Sheet1!A1&Sheet1!A2)
 
Last edited:

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,042
Messages
5,362,816
Members
400,694
Latest member
Sofie17

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top