Copy value from cell above if blank

Mux99

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
25
In column A every two cells are merged (A1 with A2, A3 with A4 etc...) so my formula only works properly for odd number rows. I need the below to use the value from the cell above if A6 is empty and so on.

=IF(Sheet1!$B6<>"", Sheet1!$A6,"")
 

JoeMo

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
16,663
Maybe:
Code:
=IF(Sheet1!$B6<>"", IF(MOD(ROW(Sheet1!A6),2)=0,Sheet1!$A5,""))
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
31,942
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Maybe
=IF(Sheet1!$A6="",Sheet1!$A5,Sheet1!A6)
 

Mux99

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
25
Maybe
=IF(Sheet1!$A6="",Sheet1!$A5,Sheet1!A6)
Also did not work for what I'm trying to do but maybe it's my fault as maybe I wasn't clear enough with what I need. Ignore my first post and see the examples below. I need a formula to output the same results as in Sheet2.

In Sheet2 Column B I'm using the formula and it works perfectly. =IF(Sheet1!$B1<>"", Sheet1!$B1,"")

I need some help with the column A formula as the following only works with odd number rows. =IF(Sheet1!$B1<>"", Sheet1!$A1,"")


Sheet1AB
1Name1500
2
3Name2
4
5Name3600
6300
7Name4
8400

<tbody>
</tbody>


Sheet2AB
1Name1500
2
3
4
5Name3600
6Name3300
7
8Name4400

<tbody>
</tbody>
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
42,153
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
In cell A1 of Sheet2, try this formula and copy down.

=IF(Sheet1!B1="","",LOOKUP("zzz",Sheet1!A$1:A1))
 

Mux99

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
25
In cell A1 of Sheet2, try this formula and copy down.

=IF(Sheet1!B1="","",LOOKUP("zzz",Sheet1!A$1:A1))
Thanks. This one worked but I already got it working with the formula below.

=IF(Sheet1!$B2<>"",IF(Sheet1!$A2<>"",Sheet1!$A2,Sheet1!$A1),"")
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
42,153
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Thanks. This one worked but I already got it working with the formula below.

=IF(Sheet1!$B2<>"",IF(Sheet1!$A2<>"",Sheet1!$A2,Sheet1!$A1),"")
That sort of indicates that in fact your data & results probably actually start on row 2 of each sheet, not row 1 as indicated in your tables in post 5? (Or else that formula is entered on row 2 of Sheet2 and copied up to row 1 which, while working actually creates a #REF ! error in the formula.

If everything (apart from any headings) actually starts on row 2, then you could also use this simpler version in A2 of Sheet2, copied down

=IF(Sheet1!B2="","",Sheet1!A1&Sheet1!A2)
 
Last edited:

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,456
Messages
5,358,789
Members
400,513
Latest member
sdrowsick

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • VBA (Userform)
    Hi All, I just would like to know why my code isn't working. Here is my VBA code: [CODE=vba]Private Sub OKButton_Click() Dim i As Integer...
  • List box that changes fill color
    Hello, I have gone through so many pages trying to figure this out. I have a 2020 calendar that depending on the day needs to have a certain...
  • Remove duplicates and retain one. Cross-linked cases
    Hi all I ran out of google keywords to use and still couldn't find a reference how to achieve the results of a single count. It would be great if...
  • VBA Copy and Paste With Duplicates
    Hello All, I'm in need of some input. My VBA skills are sub-par at best. I've assembled this code from basic research and it works but is...
  • Macro
    is it possible for a macro to run if the active cell value is different to the value above it
  • IF DATE and TIME
    I currently use this to check if date has passed but i also need to set a time on it too. Is it possible? [CODE=vba]=IF(B:B>TODAY(),"Not...
Top